Humanitarian Awards Banquet

At the annual Humanitarian Award Banquet, an award is presented to a person whose life work exemplifies the type of dedication to freedom, justice and equality that NAACP represents.

Recent honorees include:

    • 2017- US Attorney General Loretta Lynch

    • 2016- NC Representative Mickey Michaux

    • 2015- Dr. Gaddis Faulcon- Former Interim President Shaw University

    • 2014- Moral Monday Attorney

    • 2013- Attorney Anita Earls- Executive Director of Southern Coalition for Social Justice

    • 2012- Ms. Andrea L. Harris — Founder and Senior Fellow of the NC Institute for Minority Development

    • 2011- Martin Eakes– CEO- Self Help Credit Union

    • 2010– Ms. Donice Marie Harbor– Community Leader

    • 2009- Mr. Julian Bond– Former NAACP Chairman of Board Directors

    • 2008– The Honorable Milton “Toby” Fitch Jr. Superior Judge

    • 2007– Ms. Carolyn Q. Coleman– 1st VP NC NAACP

    • 2006- Dr. E. Lavonia Allison- Community Leader

    • 2005- Pastor John P. Kee- Pastor New Life City of Praise

The 2018 Honoree is NC Representative Larry Hall

Mr. Hall is currently serving as the Secretary  for the NC Department of Military and Veterans Affairs. He has represented North Carolina’s 29th district in the House of Representatives since 2006 and has led the House Democrats since 2012.